CurlingAlberta.ca



NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING CALL FOR BOARD NOMINATIONS NOTICE OF PROPOSED BYLAW CHANGES

Notice is hereby given that the ACF – Alberta Curling Federation (operating as 'Curling Alberta') will host its Annual General Meeting on July 10, 2021 *via remote meeting*.

Meeting agenda and login details will be distributed at the 60-day notice.

As per the current bylaws, this your 120-day notification, call for board nominations, and notice of proposed bylaw changes.

NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

6.1 NOMINATION OF DIRECTORS

Nominations for positions shall be submitted in writing to the Chair of Governance Committee at least sixty (60) days in advance of the meeting at which the vote is to be held. Therefore, the deadline for nominations is **May 11, 2020**. Please note that **two member clubs from your geographical area** must sign the nomination form.

As per the bylaws, there shall be a minimum eight and maximum of 12 Directors. The Board shall include Directors from each of the eight geographical zones (GA's). There will be no more than two Directors from any zone.

For the 2021 Curling Alberta Board election, there are five vacancies to be filled.

Directors are elected for a term of three years. At minimum, we are required to fill one position in GA 4 and one position in GA 7.

As of the date of this notice, GA's that do not have a vacancy are GA 8 and GA 5. All other GA's are eligible to submit a nomination. As per our bylaws, members cannot vote to elect anyone from GA 8 or 5.

IMPORTANT – there can only be a maximum number of two board members from a GA, and the board can have a maximum of 12 members.

The following chart illustrates the geographical distribution of Curling Alberta's current Board members, and the related term expiry dates.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREA (GA)*	Board Member – officer position	Term Expiry	Running for re-election	Number of potential vacancies
1	Jody Meli – Vice President	2022		1
2	Steve Young - President	2021	YES	2
3	Curtis Fairhurst – Past President	2021	NO	1
3	Mickey Pendergast	2023		0
4**	Neil Bratrud **	2022**	YES**	2
5	Dawn Gavin	2022		0
5	Brendan Bottcher	2023		0
6	David Heavenor - Secretary	2022		1
6	Jenilee Streatch	2021	NO	0
7	Vern Hafso	2021	NO	2
8	Alan Bone - Treasurer	2023		0
8	David Hyatt	2023		0

For a list of communities by zone, please refer to the bylaws, visit the Curling Alberta website, or the following link: <u>https://curlingalberta.ca/about-us/board-of-directors</u> (note that Curling Alberta members clubs in Northeast British Columbia are included in GA 8).

*Please note that Neil Bratrud was appointed by the Board of Directors on July 11, 2020 until the next meeting of the members where he is able to run to be elected to the remainder of the term. The term he is running for officially ends in 2022.

PROPOSED BYLAW CHANGES

See the attached document that outlines the proposed changes.