

Annual General Meeting

June 6, 2020 Web Conference 10:00am

1.0 Roll Call, Introductions, and Review of Voting Procedures and Eligible Votes:

Curtis Fairhurst called the meeting to order at 10:04am

The following were in attendance:

Curtis Fairhurst, Curling Alberta President

Dawn Gavin, Curling Alberta Director

Jody Meli, Curling Alberta Vice President

Steven Young, Curling Alberta Treasurer (also carrying 1 proxy vote)

Marvin Trimble, Curling Alberta Director

David Heavenor, Curling Alberta Secretary

Jenilee Streatch, Curling Alberta Director

Vern Hafso, Curling Alberta Director

Brenda Asmussen, Curling Alberta Director

Mike Libbus, Curling Alberta Member

Cathy Craig, Curling Alberta Member

Alan Bone, Curling Alberta Member (also carrying 1 proxy vote)

Shara Webster, Curling Alberta Member

Jeff Ginter, Curling Alberta Member

Darcy Hyde, Curling Alberta Member

Kevin Macrae, Curling Alberta Member

Joyce Thrush, Curling Alberta Member

Trish Jackson, Curling Alberta Member

Heather Nedohin, Curling Alberta Member

Nicole Bellamy, Curling Alberta Member

Rick Fulmer, Curling Alberta Member

Danielle Richir, Curling Alberta Member

Jennifer Lutz, Curling Alberta Member

Gord Copithorne, Curling Alberta Member

Gail Davis, Curling Alberta Member

Blair Lenton, Curling Alberta Member

David Hyatt, Curling Alberta Member

Jan Hafso, Curling Alberta Member

Vicki Sjolie, Curling Alberta Member

Nick Woronuk, Curling Alberta Member

Kris Burkholder, Curling Alberta Member

Jennifer Lutz, Curling Alberta Member

Staff: Jill Richard, Executive Director

Vicki Baird, Competitions Coordinator

Brittany Andersen, Competitions Coordinator Michael Laderoute, Championships Coordinator





Visiting: Steven Indig, Parliamentarian, Sport Law & Strategy Group

Jason Robinson, Voting Scrutineer, Sport Law & Strategy Group

Casey Thomas Marvin Dobish Brendan Bottcher Mickey Pendergast Doug Gordon

In accordance with the bylaws of Curling Alberta, this Annual General Meeting was called by its President, and its members were given notice on February 7, 2020 and advised of the meeting's purpose. Quorum is considered established if 25 voting members are present. Here today, we have a total of 30 voting members and so a quorum is established.

Voting was conducted via the Simply Voting platform, and Jason Robinson was designated as Scrutineer. All voting members were instructed on the voting procedures.

2.0 Agenda and Minutes

The agenda was circulated to all registered members in advance of the AGM. There were no additions or revisions to this agenda, and as such, the agenda was approved as circulated.

The minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting were circulated in advance of the AGM. There were no additions or revisions to the draft minutes, and as such, the minutes were approved as circulated.

3.0 Report from the President and Executive Director

President Curtis Fairhurst, and Executive Director Jill Richard presented their reports to the members.

The reports from the President and Executive Director were received.

4.0 Financial Review

Presented by Treasurer Steven Young.

MOTION: To appoint King and Co. as auditors for the financial year ending March 31, 2021.		





5.0 Election of Board Members

The nominations were received by Curling Alberta prior to the April 6th, 2020 deadline and met the nomination criteria outlined by the Curling Alberta bylaws. The proposed slate of candidates is:

Mickey Pendergast – Mickey, from Calgary, has been a completive curler in Alberta for over 40 years. During this time, has competed in 18 provincials, and qualified for 3 nationals. Mickey also has a successful coaching career for U18 and U21 teams. In governance, he has served as President, and other board positions in several leagues through the years. As a business owner, he brings a wealth of knowledge beyond curling to the Curling Alberta board.

Brendan Bottcher – Brendan, from Spruce Grove, has a very successful career skipping a competitive men's team. Originally from Alberta, has successfully progressed through Juniors and is currently one of the top skips in the world. Brendan is also a successful engineer, and has experience volunteering on several boards, including holding a CFO position.

David Hyatt – David joins Curling Alberta from Manning. David has a long and successful history of being a curler, instructor, coach, umpire, and club board member. He is also currently the Curling Commissioner for the Alberta Schools Athletic Association. David is also teacher for grades 7-12. David's experience from many facets of our sport will be a valuable addition to Curling Alberta.

Alan Bone – Alan joins Curling Alberta from Fort. St. John. Alan is an avid curler and Chartered Accountant. Alan is currently a partner with Sander Rose Bone Grindle Ilp with locations in Fort St. John, Dawson Creek, and Grande Prairie. He has a long career volunteering on several boards including his local Rotary Club, and the CPA Insurance Plans West board. Alan's accounting and financial skill will be valuable to Curling Alberta.

MOTION:

To approve the election of the slate of candidates to the board of Curling Alberta:

- Mickey Pendergast, Zone 3
- Brendan Bottcher, Zone 5
- David Hyatt, Zone 8
- Alan Bone, Zone 8

Motion: Jody Meli For: 33 votes.
Second: Marvin Trimble Against: None.

CARRIED

As per the bylaws of Curling Alberta, there remains a vacant board position from zone 4.

6.0 Adjournment

Curtis Fairhurst adjourned the 2020 Curling Alberta AGM as all matters of business on the agenda were concluded.

Curtis Fairhurst, President David Heavenor, Secretary

