

July 21, 2023 12:00pm Hybrid: In Person at Percy Page Centre in Edmonton & Web Conference

1.0 Roll Call, Introductions, Land Acknowledgement, and Review of Voting Procedures and Eligible Votes:

Jodi Meli called the meeting to order at 12:01pm

The following were in attendance:

Jon Cote, Thistle Curling Club Kevin Hedley, Westridge Curling Club Tamra Barwegen, Coaldale Granite Club Ryan Mierke, Didsbury Curling Club Glen Smith, Sundre Curling Club Deanna Coates, Fort St. John Curling Club Kathleen Shears, Fort St John Curling Club (no vote) Don Kelloway, Red Deer Curling Centre Carmen Little, Chetwynd Curling Club Shannon McEwen, Crestwood Curling Club Jorge Da Silva, Acadia Recreation Complex Elaine Miller, Lethbridge Curling Club Blair Johnston, Lethbridge Curling Club (no vote) Kendall Waiting, Cochrane Curling Club Society Lynn Childs, Lakeside Curling Club Nicole Bellamy, St. Albert Curling Club Heather Nedohin, Sherwood Park Curling Club Mike Libbus, Okotoks Curling Club Joyce Thrush, Sylvan Curling Club 2000 Gavin Morton, Shamrock Curling Club Rick Mckague, CA Board Member Ray Hineman, CA Board Member + North Hill Curling Club Proxy Jody Meli, CA Board Member Mickey Pendergast, CA Board Member Alan Bone, CA Board Member Dawn Gavin, CA Board Member + Leduc Curling Club Proxy David Hyatt, CA Board Member Neil Bratrud, CA Board Member Gord Copithorne, CA Board Member Jill Richard, Executive Director Britney Andersen, Championships Coordinator Michael Laderoute, Championships Coordinator

Jason Ginter, Director of Player & Leadership Development

Staff:

Visiting:

Daniel Roberts, King & Co. Robin Witty, Sport Law

Vicki Baird, Championships Coordinator Tyler Tardi, Program Coordinator Paige Papley, Raffle Coordinator



(Parliamentarian)

Steve Indig, Sport Law Ben Wyld, Sport Law Joanne Gardner Chris Martin

This Annual General Meeting was called by its President, and its members were given both email and website notices in accordance with the bylaws of Curling Alberta. Quorum is considered established if 25 voting members are present. Here today, we have a total of 20 voting members, for a total of 27 votes and so a quorum is established.

Voting was conducted via the Simply Voting platform, and Will Russell was designated as Scrutineer. All voting members were instructed on the voting procedures.

2.0 Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: AGM-2023-1			
To approve the agenda as circulated.			
Motion: Rick Mckague Second: Ray Hineman	For: 25 votes. Against: None.		CARRIED

3.0 Approval of the 2021 AGM Minutes

MOTION: AGM-2023-2				
To approve the minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting as circulated.				
Motion: David Hyatt Second: Alan Bone	For: 25 votes. Against: None.	CARRIED		

12:40 Heather Nedohin joined the meeting Voting strength 27

3.0 Report from the President and Executive Director

Vice President Jodi Meli, and Executive Director Jill Richard presented their reports to the members. The reports from the President and Executive Director were received.

1:02 Tamra Barwegen Coledale Curling Club left the meeting

Voting Strength 26

4.0 Financial Review

Presented by Treasurer Alan Bone, Executive Director Jill Richard, and Auditor Daniel Roberts.

MOTION: AGM-2023-3

To appoint King and Co. as auditors for the next financial year				
Motion: Alan Bone Second: Rick Mckague	For: 25 votes. Against: None.	CARRIED		

5.0 Election of Board Members

The nominations were received by Curling Alberta prior to the May 11, 2021 deadline and met the nomination criteria outlined by the Curling Alberta bylaws. The proposed slate of candidates is:

- Zone 3: Mickey Pendergast (returning board member)
- Zone 6: Christopher Martin (new Board member)
- Zone 7: George Mitsopoulos (New Board member)

MOTION: AGM-2023-4

To approve the election of the slate of candidates to the board of Curling Alberta:

- Zone 3: Mickey Pendergast (3 year term)
- Zone 6: Christopher Martin (3 year term)
- Zone 7: George Mitsopoulos (3 year term)

Motion: Shannon McEwen	For: 25 votes.	CARRIED
Second: Jon Cote	Against: None.	

As per the bylaws of Curling Alberta, there are one vacant board position, from zone 8, eligible to be filled with a nomination from the floor

No nominations came forward. There is a vacancy on the board from zone 8

6.0 Adjournment

Jody Meli adjourned the 2023 Curling Alberta AGM at 1:17pm as all matters of business on the agenda were concluded.