Curling Alberta AGM Update

May 8, 2020

Curling Alberta would like to provide its members clubs an update on the upcoming AGM. We are pleased to have received four successful nominations for the Board of Directors. The nominations were received by Curling Alberta prior to the April 6th, 2020 deadline and met the nomination criteria outlined by our bylaws. 

The four successful nominees, who will be elected by acclimation, are:

  • Mickey Pendergast – zone 3, Calgary
  • Brendan Bottcher – zone 5, Spruce Grove
  • David Hyatt – zone 8, Manning
  • Alan Bone – zone 8, Fort St. John

These nominees will officially join the Curling Alberta Board at the June 6th AGM. Please note that as per Curling Alberta bylaws, nominees from the floor will not be accepted in the zones listed above.   However, because there is still a vacancy for a Director from zone 4, nominations may be made from the floor for that zone only. If there are any individuals currently residing in zone 4 who would be interested in joining the Curling Alberta Board for a two year term, they are asked to email Jody Meli at [email protected] for further information. 

As a reminder, Curling Alberta will host its Annual General Meeting on June 6, 2020 at 10:00 am via web conference due to the pandemic. Information on registering and attending the AGM can be found here. We encourage you to attend the meeting as we will need a minimum of 25 voting members to achieve quorum. 

We want to sincerely thank our outgoing board members, Brenda Asmussen and Marvin Trimble, for their hard work and dedication to Curling Alberta. Both have offered considerable time to this organization and contributed significantly to its progress and successes.

Below is some brief information about the four successful candidates joining our board in June. As you will see, the Curling Alberta will continue with a strong skill set which will help the organization continue to evolve. 

Mickey Pendergast –From Calgary, has been a competitive curler in Alberta for over 40 years. During this time, has competed in 18 provincials, and qualified for 3 nationals, winning 2 national titles. Mickey also has a successful coaching career for U18 and U21 teams. In governance, he has served as President, and other board positions in several leagues through the years. As a business owner, he brings a wealth of knowledge beyond curling to the Curling Alberta Board. 

Brendan Bottcher – From Spruce Grove, has a successful career skipping a competitive men’s team. Originally from Alberta, has successfully progressed through Juniors and is currently one of the top skips in the world. Brendan is also a successful engineer and has experience volunteering on several boards, including holding a CFO position.

David Hyatt – Joining Curling Alberta from Manning. David has a long and successful history of being a curler, instructor, coach, umpire, and club board member. He is also currently finishing up his role as the Curling Commissioner for the Alberta Schools Athletic Association. David is also teacher for grades 7-12. David’s experience from many facets of our sport will be a valuable addition to Curling Alberta.

Alan Bone – Joining Curling Alberta from Fort. St. John. Alan is an avid curler and Chartered Professional Accountant. Alan is currently a partner with Sander Rose Bone Grindle LLP with locations in Fort St. John, Dawson Creek, and Grande Prairie. He has a long career volunteering on several boards including his local Rotary Club and the CPA Insurance Plan’s West Board. Alan’s accounting and financial skill will be valuable to Curling Alberta.

Scroll to Top