Curling Alberta AGM Reminder & Update

July 5, 2021

As a reminder, Curling Alberta will host its Annual General Meeting on July 10, 2021 at 10:00 am via web conference.  Information on registering and attending the AGM can be found here.  We encourage you to attend the meeting as will need a minimum of 25 voting members to achieve quorum.

Here is the Zoom meeting link:


We would like to provide member clubs an update on the upcoming AGM.  We are pleased to have received three successful nominations for the Board of Directors.  The nominations were received prior to the May 11, 2021 deadline and met the nomination criteria outlined by our bylaws.

The successful nominees, who will be elected by acclamation are:

  • Steven Young – Zone 2
  • Gordon Copithorne – Zone 2
  • Neil Bratrud – Zone 4

These nominees will officially join the Curling Alberta Board at the July 10th AGM. Please note that as per Curling Alberta bylaws, nominees from the floor will not be accepted for Zone 2, 5, and 8 because our bylaws stipulate that no more than two individuals per zone can serve on the Board. Other zones where nominations could be accepted are  Zone 1, 3, 4, 6 where there is only one individual serving from those zones.   Zone 7 is currently vacant.  If there are any individuals who would be interested in joining the Curling Alberta Board for a three-year term, they are asked to email Jody Meli at [email protected] for further information.

We want to sincerely thank our outgoing board members, Curtis Fairhurst, Jenilee Stretch, and Vern Hafso for their hard work and dedication to Curling Alberta.  They have dedicated considerable personal time to this organization and contributed significantly to its progress and successes.

Below is some brief information about the three successful candidates joining our board in July.  As you will see, Curling Alberta will continue with a strong skill set which will help this organization continue to evolve.

Steven Young – from Banff, is currently serving as President of Curling Alberta and previously held the position of Treasurer.   Steven is a club curler and a trained coach and has instructed programs at the Banff Curling Club.  He brings strong leadership skills from his volunteer work on a variety of boards, including Golf Canada, as well as his current role as Director of Golf at the Fairmont Banff Springs.

Neil Bratrud – from Camrose, was appointed to the Curling Board in 2020.  Neil currently serves on the Governance Committee and brings his experience as a curler, volunteer (Boston Pizza Cup and Canada Cup) and past president of the Rose City Curling Club to the Board.  He is the Argo Division Manager at Wild Rose Coop and also farms.

Gord Copithorne lives near Cochrane with his wife Jenica, four kids, four cats, dog, geckos, and many fish. Gord has been curling for nearly 32 years, has been a competition coach for over 7 years and is currently the president of the Cochrane Curling Club Board.  He has been to provincials seven times as either a player or coach.  Gord also manages a small competition development program out of Cochrane to help teams and players evolve into better technical players and effective athletes.  Gord’s intentions with Curling Alberta are to help find ways to increase player participation and stabilize the way competitions are planned, executed, and communicated.

Scroll to Top